How the power of art feeds a hungry soul.

26 Nov
graffiti red colours

© Jacqueline L. Scott

Challenge: Go to an art show.

Strolling though the city on a sunny Sunday afternoon, I went to an art show in the park. Art shows are not normally my thing as they are filled with people who have a different perspective on reality. I guess that is why they are called artists! They take their work seriously. For me, art is simply decorative. It is a nice way to fill up the blank wall over the sofa, the bed or the space in the hall.

I used to buy art from Canadian Tire, IKEA and Winners. I choose prints that matched the colours in the room. The paintings were usually landscapes. You know the type – pretty views of the lake at sunset or trees in their autumn finery. The still life paintings were just as predictable – vases of flowers or bowls of fruit spilling onto a tablecloth.

I saw the same type of art in hospitals, hotels and the homes of friends. Was this vindication of our good taste? Or was it an indicator that our choice of art was safe, conventional and bland?

I decided it was time to choose art that was a better reflection of my developing personal style. I now have many pieces of original art in the house. All are from thrift stores and yard sales. They were bought simply because I liked them. Most are abstracts and landscapes.

graffiti blue colours

© Jacqueline L. Scott

At the art show, there were hundreds of painting, sculptures, photographs and ceramics for sale. The abstract paintings seduced me. One was of moody blues, grays and creams. It reminded me of the swirling sea, or looking into the abyss of despair.

Another painting was of cream, beige and white vertical strokes. It triggered the warm memories of hiking along the birch forests of northern Ontario. Still another of reds, oranges, pinks and black reminded me of sunsets or of a child’s face just before the full-blown tantrum.

I spoke to a few of the artist. They were pleased to share their passion with anyone who would listen. It took many hours to make a painting – even those abstract ones that looked like the artist simply splattered paint on the canvas and then smeared it about with their finger-tips.

I did not buy anything from the art show. I am not yet ready to spend serious money on art. In time I will. Art is food for the soul. I want my soul to be well-fed.

© Jacqueline L. Scott

Jacqueline L. Scott is attempting to be her own life coach. The blog charts her progress as she moves from being frustrated to being content with her life. It focuses on fun, money, work and wellness. You can leave a comment and follow her on Twitter @JabberScott.

Leave a comment